Bookmark this page: Add NAVTEQ Connections 2007   an annual conference   kind request   registration problems to Yahoo MyWeb Add NAVTEQ Connections 2007   an annual conference   kind request   registration problems to Google Bookmarks Add NAVTEQ Connections 2007   an annual conference   kind request   registration problems to Windows Live Add NAVTEQ Connections 2007   an annual conference   kind request   registration problems to Del.icio.us Digg NAVTEQ Connections 2007   an annual conference   kind request   registration problems! Add NAVTEQ Connections 2007   an annual conference   kind request   registration problems to Netscape
  •  
  • Subject
  • Author
  • Date
If you were  Registered and logged in, you could reply and use other advanced thread options
Posted by darius on September 25, 2007, 5:41 am


Hi,

I getting the following conference registration form over and over
again.

NAVTEQ, a leader in location and mobile navigation, is pleased to host
NAVTEQ Connections 2007 - an annual conference devoted to the
advancement of location-enabled applications, devices, software
development and distribution. This year, participants have the unique
opportunity to customize their 2 day agenda according to their
interests.

http://emm3.cabestan.com/navteq/240907.cfm?WL=2089&WS=2439316_2119713&WA=2366

Frankly speaking I would like to join in
but the original poster is not Navteq but

Conference materials come from
http://emm3.cabestan.com/navteq/240907.cfm?WL=2089&WS=2439316_2119713&WA=2366

and registration is not done by NAVTEQ but by
http://www.regonline.com/Checkin.asp?EventId=141564

And how can I register on-line and furnish my details if no fee
information is known to me in advance.

And one line in the above reads:
to unsubscribe from this broadcoast email please click here
xxxxxxxxxx

Message has a Logo of Hacker Safe
but registration terms are still a surprise

"
REGONLINE REGISTRANT TERMS AND CONDITIONS

BY REGISTERING OR TRANSACTING THROUGH REGONLINE, YOU ACKNOWLEDGE THAT
YOU HAVE READ, UNDERSTAND AND AGREE TO BE BOUND BY THE TERMS AND
CONDITIONS IN THIS AGREEMENT.

By using our site you agree that you won't tell anyone our trade
secrets and will not use any of the information available to compete
against us online. No competitors or future competitors are permitted
access to our site or information, and any such access by third
parties is unauthorized. You agree that you will not copy, record,
publish, compile, reproduce, republish, use or resell for any
competing commercial purpose any information on our site and you agree
to not use any device, software or routine that may extract, copy,
modify, import, export, replicate, scrape or otherwise deliver, in any
manner, the data and information on our site to you or anyone else. If
you do so, then you agree that we are suffering irreparable injury and
that an injunction or temporary restraining order may be entered by
any court sitting in the state of Colorado prohibiting the use of such
information and requiring, without limitation, that any domain name
used to advertise the competing use be redirected away from the site.
In addition, you agree to pay all reasonable attorney's fees and costs
incurred in enforcing these provisions.
"

Please let me know your opinion as I am interested in Navteq
conference not in entering into any business transactions with
Regonline, Cebestan or other third party middle-man .
I am neither interested in any trade secrets of Regonline nor
interested to compete with Regonline online .

Is the above a hoax, trojan or a hacker's tool to get personal
details ?

How can I register , provide my personal details , agree to any terms
in advance , if conference fees are still not known to me ?

Darius


Posted by keith on September 25, 2007, 8:19 am


On Tue, 25 Sep 2007 02:41:22 -0700, darius wrote:

SNIP
>
> Is the above a hoax, trojan or a hacker's tool to get personal
> details ?
>
> How can I register , provide my personal details , agree to any terms
> in advance , if conference fees are still not known to me ?
>
> Darius

Personally, I'd be very cautious of this - the conference is not detailed
anywhere I can find on navteq's site, and the 'cabestan' website gives me
the feeling of 'methinks he doth protest too much'. Unless you can get
verification from other sources, I would suggest not committing too much
information to this.

Keith

Posted by Gordon Beaton on September 25, 2007, 8:49 am


On Tue, 25 Sep 2007 07:19:37 -0500, keith wrote:
> On Tue, 25 Sep 2007 02:41:22 -0700, darius wrote:
> SNIP
>> Is the above a hoax, trojan or a hacker's tool to get personal
>> details ?
>> How can I register , provide my personal details , agree to any terms
>> in advance , if conference fees are still not known to me ?
>> Darius
> Personally, I'd be very cautious of this - the conference is not detailed
> anywhere I can find on navteq's site, and the 'cabestan' website gives me
> the feeling of 'methinks he doth protest too much'. Unless you can get
> verification from other sources, I would suggest not committing too much
> information to this.
> Keith

The sites mentioned by Darius are linked to from
http://developer.navteq.com .

Follow the links from "Now open! NAVTEQ Connections Conference
Registration" in the blue box on the first page, or under "Events".

/gordon

--

Posted by Darren Griffin - PocketGPSWorl on September 25, 2007, 12:53 pm



> Hi,
>
> I getting the following conference registration form over and over
> again.
>
> NAVTEQ, a leader in location and mobile navigation, is pleased to host
> NAVTEQ Connections 2007 - an annual conference devoted to the
> advancement of location-enabled applications, devices, software
> development and distribution. This year, participants have the unique
> opportunity to customize their 2 day agenda according to their
> interests.
>
> http://emm3.cabestan.com/navteq/240907.cfm?WL=2089&WS=2439316_2119713&WA=2366
>
> Frankly speaking I would like to join in
> but the original poster is not Navteq but

It's genuine. Cabestan are an e-marketing firm that Navteq have employed.

--
Darren Griffin
PocketGPSWorld - www.PocketGPSWorld.com
The Premier GPS Resource for News, Reviews and Forums