Bookmark this page: Add Re  REQUEST   Garmin Mapsource  City Navigator North America v8 keygen to Yahoo MyWeb Add Re  REQUEST   Garmin Mapsource  City Navigator North America v8 keygen to Google Bookmarks Add Re  REQUEST   Garmin Mapsource  City Navigator North America v8 keygen to Windows Live Add Re  REQUEST   Garmin Mapsource  City Navigator North America v8 keygen to Del.icio.us Digg Re  REQUEST   Garmin Mapsource  City Navigator North America v8 keygen! Add Re  REQUEST   Garmin Mapsource  City Navigator North America v8 keygen to Netscape
  •  
  • Subject
  • Author
  • Date
If you were  Registered and logged in, you could reply and use other advanced thread options
Posted by Baggins, Frodo on November 16, 2006, 8:45 pm


On Thu, 16 Nov 2006 20:08:00 -0500, Steve Calvin wrote:

> Phil Wheeler wrote:
>> Steve Calvin wrote:
>>> Phil Wheeler wrote:
>>>> Really, given the byzantine nature of the Garmin unlock system, it's
>>>> a major chore even after you've paid for it!
>>>> Phil
>>> Yep, I agree! You have to type in the code, what a PITA.
>>
>>
>> Not all that easy if you have several versions and have been through
>> several updates and use multiple GPSRs. Then the record keeping is a
>> big PITA.
>
> No comprendo... Garmin keeps track of you units and unlock
> codes online. All you have to do is re-download them from
> their site.
>
> I'm obviously missing something I guess but in my experience
> it's been extremely easy.

Is it safe to believe that buying this s/w from eBay will result in codes
that work? Anyone with positive experience buying software on eBay?


Posted by Steve Scott on November 16, 2006, 9:24 pm


I purchased a 5 use version of QuickBooks Pro a few years back and it
came up okay. Look for a vendor with LOTS of feedback (2000 or so)
and above 99.5% positive with few recent negatives. Check out the
negatives and make sure they're not for illegal software.

On Fri, 17 Nov 2006 01:45:47 GMT, "Baggins, Frodo"

>Is it safe to believe that buying this s/w from eBay will result in codes
>that work? Anyone with positive experience buying software on eBay?


Posted by Phil Wheeler on November 16, 2006, 9:56 pm


Steve Scott wrote:
> I purchased a 5 use version of QuickBooks Pro a few years back and it
> came up okay. Look for a vendor with LOTS of feedback (2000 or so)
> and above 99.5% positive with few recent negatives. Check out the
> negatives and make sure they're not for illegal software.
>
> On Fri, 17 Nov 2006 01:45:47 GMT, "Baggins, Frodo"
>
>> Is it safe to believe that buying this s/w from eBay will result in codes
>> that work? Anyone with positive experience buying software on eBay?
>


Apples and oranges. I would never buy any Garmin
product from someone who was not an authorized
Garmin dealer.

Phil

Posted by Seth on November 16, 2006, 10:02 pm


> Steve Scott wrote:
>> I purchased a 5 use version of QuickBooks Pro a few years back and it
>> came up okay. Look for a vendor with LOTS of feedback (2000 or so)
>> and above 99.5% positive with few recent negatives. Check out the
>> negatives and make sure they're not for illegal software.
>> On Fri, 17 Nov 2006 01:45:47 GMT, "Baggins, Frodo"
>>> Is it safe to believe that buying this s/w from eBay will result in
>>> codes
>>> that work? Anyone with positive experience buying software on eBay?
> Apples and oranges. I would never buy any Garmin product from someone who
> was not an authorized Garmin dealer.

I would just not ever purchase software from eBay. It's too easily a
bootleggable item with a very high potential for the purchaser being
screwed.



Posted by Jack Erbes on November 17, 2006, 9:08 am


Baggins, Frodo wrote:

<snip>
>
> Is it safe to believe that buying this s/w from eBay will result in codes
> that work? Anyone with positive experience buying software on eBay?
>

I have bought all or most of the GPS software I buy on eBay. Look at
the seller's feedback profile and make a decision as to whether or not
it appears to be worth taking a chance. Also, look at the description
and ask questions if all is not clear. Things like:

1 - Is it in a sealed package?

2 - Does it have piece of paper with a unlock code or a unlock coupon
with it (if that is needed)?

3 - If an open package or "used" has it been previously unlocked?

When you find a seller with hundreds to thousands of sales and feedback
in the very high 90 percentile, you are at little risk. Always look at
the total cost with goods in hand, shipping charges can vary widely. I
bought City Navigator North America 8 from Amazon because their price
and free shipping worked out the best ($102).

I also have about six or seven older Garmin software packages and all of
them can be installed and looked at under MapSource. The details will
vary from version to version and some of the older version will have
trails and railroad tracks (or old abandoned railroad right of ways)
that are not on the newer versions.

Maps can be made from the older software and uploaded to a GPS of
waypoints can be placed and uploaded to place or locate features missing
from your newer software.

For street level details and for looking in POI for specific current
retailers or services, the more recent version of street and highway
mapping will almost always be best. But you can also use the older
versions to find the locations of POI that are no longer in the database.

Some people treat the older versions of Garmin's mapping data as if the
copyrights had expired or as if it were almost in the public domain.
The CD's are not copy protected, don't require unlocks, are not being
made any longer, not available for sale anywhere, etc., etc. So if
they give a copy to a friend or acquaintance they are, other than to the
letter of the law, not really committing much of a crime.

If I were Garmin I'd look the other way on it because I think that
almost anyone that gets an free copy for their older mapping will buy
the newer mapping eventually. Some of the older mapping will not
autoroute on the newer handhelds, some of it will. Mapping is mildly
addictive to that who get mildly addicted to GPS.

Jack

--
Jack Erbes in Ellsworth, Maine, USA - jackerbes at adelphia dot net
(also receiving email at jacker at midmaine.com)